February Wrap-Up

It’s time for another wrap-up! Our February Sankey:

So it was basically the opposite of last month, but not unusual as far as our travel months go! We managed a whopping 6% savings rate as a result of spending a shit ton travelling to Europe and Morocco. However, our net worth increase was still substantial, reaching $813,036 as of today, an increase of about $16,000 from last month.

Notable things this month include:

  1. A very epic and expensive vacation throwing everything out of whack. This is totally normal for us, and our spending and savings rate always balances out by year-end.
  2. I got a new phone! My trusty old ancient flip phone somehow got left behind in Paris. Fortunately they still seem to be making flip phones, so I am able to continue to avoid smartphones for the foreseeable future.

Our other expenses were all about usual, adjusted for the fact that we were gone for half the month.

After much research we’ve tentatively decided on Lunch Money as our Mint replacement, though we’ll see how it goes with the trial period.

9 Comments

    • You find it strange because you’re assuming I avoid smartphones for financial reasons, which I don’t. I avoid smartphones for three reasons. 1. Ethical concerns, 2. I find modern-day smartphone-addicted zombies horrifying and do not want that fate for myself, and 3. Being constantly connected and available is not even remotely appealing to me.

  1. Thank you for sharing your story and progress. I wish I could find a place to live for around what you pay. Unfortunately, my apartment is $2050.00 a month, which makes it difficult to save so much. With that said, I still manage to save and invest a bit. Thank you for providing a great example.

  2. I respect the idea of using a flip phone in todays society! Its called a “dumbphone”, a very unfortunate name though. (but its the opposite of smartphone I guess).

    Although I find it strange that you find it still possible to not use a smartphone, seems a lot of things require the use of apps and such. Ticket systems etc.

    Ps. if you have the time and desire, I have a small request, perhaps making a blog post about smartphones vs. dumbphones.

  3. Also, if I may ask. You mentioned ethical reasons for not using a smartphone. and the use of a robot adviser for selecting stocks, are you ever conflicted about not personally selecting and supporting companies?
    So for example, I guessing a large portion of your stocks are of tech companies like Apple and Samsung.
    So you are earning money through companies that make smartphones.
    Its really not my intention to accuse of wrong doing, I struggle myself with ethical choices like that constantly. I was asking because I was genuinely curious.

Leave a comment