Incoming Assets – in the spotlight once again!

Several months ago, we were interviewed for a piece about early retirement and frugality for The Walrus, a Canadian magazine. This month, it finally came out!

https://thewalrus.ca/meet-the-frugal-millennials-planning-for-decades-of-retirement/

The piece focuses on ourselves, and another frugal couple that we know who also live in Metro Vancouver. It also references Mr. Money Mustache, who most readers of our blog should be familiar with.

One thing I particularly liked is that the journalist – of her own accord – brought up the fact that we seem less stressed specifically because of, and not despite, our frugal lifestyle. That’s something that I found a lot of people don’t seem to get it, but she did pretty quickly. The point of being frugal isn’t to stress yourself by depriving yourself of what you want. The point is to identify what does make you happy, and focus on that. In my case, that’s not having to worry about money and not being forced to work just to keep the bill-collectors at bay.

Certainly not everyone wants to retire in their 30s. But being frugal obviously helps with any goal that requires a lot of money – starting a business, buying a house, raising a family, etc.

I also think it was good to see an article about people who are medium-income shooting for FI, rather than high-income engineers etc. I doubt we’ll ever see articles about low-income people going for FI, but who knows.

And of course, I am happy to see positive portrayals of frugality in the media. At first, articles about frugal people shooting for FI were usually dismissive and making them out to be weird nutters. But now that trend seems to be shifting. I believe/hope that over the next several years, as more people actually obtain FI, we’ll start to see more of these articles from a variety of demographics. Showing that FI isn’t only for rich people making 200K a year, and that average-income people can also realistically strive for FI.

-Written by Cel

1 Comment

  1. Great job with the Walrus interview. I really enjoyed reading it.

    I’m not like the Gen-Xers portrayed in the article though… I switched to creating what’s now often called a “lifestyle business” in 2000 and completely agree that hearing people talk more positively about being “frugal” is really refreshing.

    I wrote a book in 2011 that was met with more criticism than I was ready for (I couldn’t embrace the “frugal” title or that I was coming from a place of lack vs abundance) and stopped marketing it. But this spring I took on the challenge to re-write it, with an extra 6 years of “thicker skin” (and experiences) under my belt & people have really embraced the early release version.

    It makes me feel hopeful that more people will be mindful of what they need (and want) and find ways to create the income they need, and enjoy their life now, instead of working so hard to hopefully enjoy life in retirement.

    I suspect things will keep shifting (and this way of thinking will become more “normal”) as your generation keeps speaking up about it.

    Great work!

Leave a Reply

